BY JOHN WATERS

AVAILABLE WHEREVER BOOKS ARE SOLD

Buy Now!

Get the perfect gift for new grads and anyone rad.

John Waters
Make Trouble book

Filmmaker and pop culture icon John Waters shares his sly wisdom in this manifesto that reminds us, no matter what field we choose,

to embrace chaos,

horrify with new ideas,

outrage outdated critics.


He first shared his gleefully subversive advice at the Rhode Island School of Design commencement, and video of the speech broke the internet. Now it’s a book, beautifully illustrated with the slightly demented line drawings of Eric Hanson, that challenges you to

ASK FOR THE WORLD & PAY NO MIND

IF YOU ARE INITIALLY TURNED DOWN

World Illustration

Make Trouble on Tour


Tuesday, April 11, 7pm

Barnes & Noble Union Square | New York, NY

Wednesday, April 12, 6pm

Brookline Booksmith | Brookline, MA

Thursday, April 13, TBD

Alamo Drafthouse | Brooklyn, NY

Friday, April 14, 7pm

Atomic Books | Baltimore, MD

Tuesday, April 18, 7pm

Clinton Bookshop | Clinton, NJ

Tuesday, April 25, 7pm

Book Soup | West Hollywood, CA

Wednesday, April 26, 7:30pm

Green Apple Books on the Park | San Francisco, CA

Friday, April 28, 7pm

Politics & Prose at Halcyon House | Washington, DC

Saturday, April 29, 7:30pm

Free Library of Philadelphia | Philadelphia, PA

Sunday, April 30, 4pm

Chicago Humanities Festival | Chicago, IL

Thursday, May 11, 7pm

Barnes & Noble at Johns Hopkins University | Baltimore MD

JOHN WATERS is a filmmaker, writer, actor, and visual artist best known for the films Pink Flamingos, Cecil B. DeMented, and Hairspray, which was adapted into a long-running Broadway musical. The author of seven books, among them the New York Times bestselling Role Models and Carsick, he performs his one-man spoken-word shows regularly in the United States and abroad. Waters lives in Baltimore, Maryland.

World Illustration